General horseracing questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• General horseracing questions

I see it's been a few years since the last post, hopefully the mods don't forget to check the forum eh? Anyway I'm new to the sport and tend to go to the track with some buds who are fairly knowledgeable and steer me in the right direction. I've also familiarized myself with the horseracing capping info from predictem. I took my limited knowledge to Sam Houston track last Saturday and achieved an 0'fer for the day. I've since put sone more time in trying to figure out how to improve and here's a list of criteria I look at and the order I look:

1. Beyer speed: I take the best and worst number and drop them and proceed to avg out the remaining scores. My intention is to start narrowing horses down.

2. Quirin points: I used this last weekend fairly extensively and found little value by itself. Horses that were ahead of the field by two or more were no more successful and most ofthe faster ones tended to die out at the finish. I feel I know who will start fast using this method but I still feel confused on how a race will finish.

3. Drop in class. Actually this is probably the first thing I look at.

4. Comparative times: I try to compare similar past races, and to calculate a horses time I'll assume each length is one second the horse is behind the leader. 5 lengths = 5 seconds. Not sure if this is right but it's what my buddy uses and he's a solid capper.

5. I pretty much have it narrowed down by now but I'll glance at trainers, jockeys, and perhaps training times to make a final decision if need be

This is my proposed plan of attack this Friday. I've been studying past books to test the strategy and I think I can narrow down some of te better horses but still struggle on predicting order of the top 3 or 4. If anyone has suggestions for me I'd very much appreciate it.