2010 Breeders’ Cup Handicapping: Jockey Angles

2010 Breeders Cup Handicapping Jockey Angles
by Kenneth Strong, Pro Horse Racing Handicapper, Predictem.com

There will be a number of ultra-talented jockeys riding on Nov. 5th and 6th in the 2010 Breeders’ Cup, but the Churchill Downs oval is a different animal than many of these riders are used to. While ground-saving trips are often advantageous regardless oftrack layout and surface, the rectangular shape, tight turns and long stretch at Churchill Downs make this type of trip even more important, especially in the dirt races.

With that in mind we’ll be giving extrapoints in our Breeders’ Cup handicapping to riders who areproven winners at Churchill Downs, especially those who have already won the Kentucky Derby or a Breeders’ Cup race at the Louisville oval.

When it comes to winning big races at Churchill Downs there are more than a few who stand out including Calvin Borel, who has won three of the last four Kentucky Derbies to go with a Breeders’ Cup winner at Churchill Downs; Robbie Albarado (2 Breeders’ Cup wins); Garret Gomez (9); Corey Nakatani (7); Julien Leparoux (5); Alex Solis (3); and Kent Desormeaux, with three Kentucky Derby winners and three Breeders Cup winners.

Other jockeys deserving of extra consideration in the 2010 Breeders Cup include Kentucky Derby-winning riders Mike Smith(13 Breeders’ Cup wins); Patrick Valenzuela(7); Jorge Chavez(2); Victor Espinoza(1) and Stewart Elliot, along with those who have won Breeders’ Cup races at Churchill Downs including Frankie Dettori(3); John Velazquez(2); Edgar Prado(1); John Murtagh(1); Shane Sellers(1); Rene Douglas(1); Eddie Castro(1) and Fernando Jara (1).

Additionally, should any of the lesser-known riders who finished among the top 20 in the standings at the 2010 Churchill Downs summer meet, secure a mount for this years Breeders Cup, make sure to give them extra consideration, especially if they are aboard long shots with a chance of making into a lucrative Breeders Cup superfecta, trifecta or exacta.

Top 20 Riders at Churchill Downs – Summer 2010

Fin- Jockey -Mounts- Wins

1. Calvin H. Borel 194 52

2. Corey J. Lanerie 248 39

3. Robby Albarado 218 35

4. Francisco C. Torres 249 32

5. Shaun Bridgmohan 180 31

6. Frederic Lenclud 249 29

7. Miguel Mena240 28

8. Jamie Theriot162 21

9. Corey S. Nakatani 98 17

10. Julien R. Leparoux 85 16

11. Victor Lebron108 15

12. Jon Kenton Court 146 14

13. Brian J. Hernandez, Jr. 134 12

14. Garrett K. Gomez 41 12

15. Alex O. Solis108 10

16. Oriana Rossi 62 8

17. Larry J. Sterling, Jr. 54 7

18. Leandro R. Goncalves 76 5

19. Sal Gonzalez, Jr.59 5

20. Kent J. Desormeaux18 4

Good Luck with your bets!