Pokerstars World Cup of Poker VI – WCP

PokerStars World Cup of Poker VI (WCP)
by Chad Holloway of

PokerStars is the largest online poker site and caters to hundreds of thousands of players from around the world. In honor of the site’s diversity, including players from multiple countries, PokerStars is hosting World Cup of Poker VI (WCP). The WCP VI brings together 54 nations to do battle for a $290,000 prize pool. The winning country will win glory, national pride and a $100,000 first place prize money. This will all occur live at the Grand Finale in The Bahamas.

The great thing about the WCP VI is that ALL players have a shot to make it onto their national team. In order to accomplish this, players will have to complete the following three stages:

STAGE I – Qualify for your National Team. Details on how to qualify can be found at the PokerStars site.

STAGE II – Regional Play-offs- If you manage to qualify for your national team, you will then compete against teams from neighboring countries.

Stage III – If you make it this far you will be playing the live Grand Finale!

Those who make it to the World Cup of Poker Grand Finale will have their travel and accommodation at the Atlantis Resort and Casino in The Bahamas comped. It is here that each team member must compete in a single table tournament which will determine the starting chip stack for their team at the World Cup of Poker Final Table. This final table will be a Tag Team event, which means all team members will rotate in and out of play until one team outlasts all the others.

More information can be found at the Live Final page at Poker Stars.

You may be wondering what countries have done well at the WCP in the past. In 2008, Team Germany – including Georg Geissler, Malte Strothmann, Bastian Wulff, Peter Schmidt and captain Jan Heitmann – took the title of World Cup of Poker V Champions by beating out eight other teams in a 16-hour live poker final. The past five WCP winners were:

* World Cup of Poker V: Team Germany
* World Cup of Poker IV: Team USA
* World Cup of Poker III: Team Poland
* World Cup of Poker II: Team Costa Rica
* World Cup of Poker I: Team Costa Rica